Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936)

Rikki-Tikki-Tavi

I confess this choice is pure nostalgia as I came across a YouTube recording of the story whilst browsing. It catapulted me right back to my ten year old self, sitting in a dusty old classroom, being read to by my teacher at Primary School.  This story, along with the Just So Stories, transported me to another world and I remember searching out the book in the library so I could read more.

Rikki-Tikki-Tavi, one of the Jungle Book stories (1894), is a fable featuring a brave mongoose who protects a family from a cobra.  Here’s the link to the reading I listened to by Daniel Vimont to with black and white illustrations and subtitles.  Rikki-Tikki-Tavi

 

Leave a Reply

