Georgina Hammick (1939 ….)

The Tulip Plate

Taken from The Penguin Book of Modern Women’s Short Stories, edited by Susan Hill (1991), this is a story of two school friends meeting after some years and finding they have just about as little in common now as they did then.  It is also a story about how fate deals out coincidences and puts peolpe in the right place at the right time for the right reason.  The theme is friendship and what it means in its various forms.  I enjoyed this story from a writer I haven’t read before, or at least I thought I hadn’t until I Googled her only to find she wrote Green Man Running, a book I own, and remember enjoying when I was devouring ‘lighter’ fiction whilst in the young children phase of my life when one of the essential elements of reading was to be able to pick up and put down a book at short notice.  Off now to scour the book shelves to see is my copy survived the recent space making exercise.

Leave a Reply

